---
title: "Getting started with Vicon Video Viewer"
canonical: "https://help.vicon.com/space/VVV115/649822236/Getting%20started%20with%20Vicon%20Video%20Viewer"
format: markdown
---
Vicon Video Viewer is a tool for playing back files generated from Vicon applications such as Shogun and Nexus.

> ⚠️ **Use with compressed video from Vicon Vanguard cameras**  
> ⚠️ To display compressed video, Vicon Video Viewer requires a Vicon Shogun Markerless license to be available. This is a restriction of the license.  
> ⚠️ If the license isn't available, `Unable to render frame` is displayed instead of the video and the Log displays the message `Not licensed to decode JpegXS`.

This guide contains the following information on installing and using Vicon Video Viewer.

> Macro (toc)

## Install Vicon Video Viewer

Vicon Video Viewer may be installed when you install a Vicon application, such as Vicon Shogun. You can also download it from the [Vicon website](https://vicon.com/downloads/software/vicon-video-viewer). It does not require a license.

After installation, to start Vicon Video Viewer do one of the following:

- Click the Vicon Video Viewer shortcut > Macro (inline-media-image)

 on the Windows desktop.
- Click the Windows **Start**  button, begin entering `Vicon Video Viewer` and click the **Vicon Video Viewer 1.#** app.
- In Windows Explorer or on the Windows desktop, double-click an associated video file. (An association for .*vvid* files is created during installation.)

## Get to know the user interface

The key areas of the Viewer window are the menu bar, view pane, information area and time bar.

![image](media://93cc6651-c37c-4bf8-9f91-776f21e247d1)

> Macro (inline-media-image)

 Menu bar

> Macro (inline-media-image)

 View pane

> Macro (inline-media-image)

 Current timecode

> Macro (inline-media-image)

 Current decoder (hardware/software) and performance in frames per second

> Macro (inline-media-image)

 Video information including resolution, payload format, frame rate, number of frames, duration in seconds

> Macro (inline-media-image)

 Mute or unmute audio (if your video has audio)

> Macro (inline-media-image)

 Time bar, with current frame indicator

> Macro (inline-media-image)

 Play/pause button, stop button and full screen button

> Macro (scroll-pagebreak)

## Play a video with correction for radial distortion

If a video is recorded from a calibrated system in Shogun Live, it contain lens calibration information. This information can be used to show the video without radial distortion.

**To check whether a video contains lens calibration information:**

1. From the **File** menu, select **Video Properties**.
2. In the Video Properties dialog box, look for properties starting with *LensDistortionCalibration*, like those shown in this example:
  If you find these properties, you can choose to view the video with or without distortion, as described below.

**To apply distortion or to view the video without it:**

- From the **View** menu, select or clear **Correct Radial Distortion**.

## Play back a video with different gamma and saturation values

If the video payload is a Bayer format, you can change the gamma correction and color saturation values that are used for playback.

To access these settings:

1. From the **View** menu, select **Display Settings**.
2. In the **Bayer Decoder** panel that appears to the right of the video, view and/or change the gamma correction and/or color saturation.

## Supported video formats

Vicon Video Viewer plays back files generated by Vicon applications. It also opens some video files created with third-party tools such as FFMPEG, but this is not its primary purpose.

It plays videos in the following formats:

> Macro (scroll-tablelayout)

| **Container format** | **Extension** | **Supported video payload formats** | **Supported audio formats** |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Vicon Video | .vvid | All payloads | All payloads |
| Windows AVI | .avi | Uncompressed Luminance8  
Uncompressed B8G8R8  
Uncompressed B8G8R8u8  
Uncompressed U8Y8V8Y8  
Uncompressed Y8U8Y8V8  
ImageJPEG  
VideoH264* | PCM UInt8  
PCM Int16  
PCM Int24  
PCM Int32  
PCM Float32 |
| QuickTime / MP4 | .mov  
.mp4 | Uncompressed Luminance8  
Uncompressed B8G8R8  
Uncompressed B8G8R8u8  
Uncompressed R8G8B8  
Uncompressed R8G8B8u8  
Uncompressed U8Y8V8Y8  
Uncompressed Y8U8Y8V8  
Uncompressed U10Y10V10Y10  
ImageJPEG  
ImagePNG  
ImageTIFF  
VideoH264* | PCM UInt8  
PCM Int16  
PCM Int24  
PCM Int32 |

> Macro (anchor)

 * Only intra-frame (i-frames only) H.264 video is supported. 

> Macro (scroll-pagebreak)

## Troubleshooting Vicon Video Viewer

### Video playback is too slow

- Large files take a while to load to wait at least a minute to allow smooth playback for files over 1GB.
- On the **Playback** menu, point to **Decoder**, and make sure that **Hardware (GPU)** is selected.
- On the **Playback** menu, make sure that **Full Speed** is selected.
- Make sure that the video is stored on a local drive and is not open over network file-sharing.
- Move the video to the fastest local drive, ideally an SSD.

### Error when opening a video

- If the video was recorded from a Vicon application, it is likely that the file is corrupt. If the problem persists, contact [Vicon Support](mailto:support@vicon.com).
- If the video was not recorded from a Vicon application it is likely that the file is an unsupported format. Consider using an alternative tool such as [VLC Media Player](https://www.videolan.org/vlc).
- If a Vicon Shogun Markerless license isn't available when you try to display compressed video from Vicon Vanguard cameras, `Unable to render frame` is displayed instead of the video and `Not licensed to decode JpegXS` is displayed in the Log. To display compressed video, ensure that you have a Vicon Shogun Markerless license and that it is activated.