---
title: "Vicon Shogun Markerless fundamentals"
canonical: "https://help.vicon.com/space/ShogunMarkerless121/1253507537/Vicon%20Shogun%20Markerless%20fundamentals"
format: markdown
---
The following topics provide information about some of the fundamental features that underpin the way Shogun Markerless works.

> Macro (toc)

> Macro (anchor)



> Macro (scroll-pagebreak)

## Device synchronization session

When you connect Shogun Markerless to a live system of cameras and/or Vicon connectivity devices, a new device synchronization session is created. To identify the current device synchronization session, look in the time bar at the bottom of the Workspace for the value in brackets [ ].

> ![Device synchronization session in Vicon Shogun Markerless time bar.](media://8f14c2cc-b551-4118-b0a6-f3b47f02d5df)

When you first open Shogun Markerless, the device synchronization session starts at 1 and the Frame and Seconds that are displayed are relative to the start of that session.

The device synchronization session enables the system to synchronize all devices. A new system session starts when:

- The hardware is rebooted.
- A device is added to the system.
- The frame rate changes.

> Macro (anchor)



## Live review

In Shogun Markerless, the pause buffer is a feature that enables data to be stored in memory for live review.

The data types stored in the pause buffer are identical to the data types that are saved when capturing data. This includes data such as centroids in each camera view, object pose, and system performance metrics such as latency.

The pause buffer influences the behavior and workflow of multiple aspects of the software including:

- Object creation and manipulation
- Reviewing recent live data
- Graph Plots

> Macro (scroll-pagebreak)

> Macro (anchor)



## Auto save

With Shogun Markerless started, its default behavior is to save all settings automatically according to the **Auto-save interval **setting.

All auto-saved files except preferences and subject view preset files are located in this folder:

*C:\Users\Public\Documents\Vicon\ShogunMarkerless1.#\LastRun\*username

Preferences and subject view preset files are located in the following folder:

*C:\Users\Public\Documents\Vicon\ShogunMarkerless1.x\*username

> ℹ️ **Note**   
> ℹ️ Auto-save files are only updated if there have been changes since the last auto-save.

As you work within Shogun Markerless, files populate into the above folder according to the temporary filenames listed in the following table. When you close Shogun Markerless properly, the temporary filenames are converted and saved as normal filenames.

| Temporary filename | Normal filename |
| --- | --- |
| AutoSave.System | LastRun.System |
| AutoSaveSubjects.mcp | Subjects.mcp |
| AutoSave.View | LastRun.View |
| AutoSave.HotKeys | LastRun.HotKeys |
| AutoSaveSubjectViewPresets.json | SubjectViewPresets.json |
| StorePreferencesAutosave.Prefs | StorePreferences.Prefs |

If Shogun Markerless terminates abnormally (including closing the process in Task Manager), the temporary filename does not convert to its normal filename and is left present in the *LastRun* folder. 

> Macro (scroll-pagebreak)

When you re-launch Shogun Markerless, if any of the auto-save files are detected, you are prompted to confirm which files you want to load:

> ![dlgAutoSave.png](media://974f4d87-fc14-4db4-ba35-fe6587e1d2df)

- To load the most recent (auto-saved) settings, click **Yes**.  
or
- To load settings from the last successfully closed session, click **No**.

This feature prevents you from losing your settings if Shogun Markerless closes abnormally, for example, due to process termination, machine reboot, etc.

**To control the auto-save settings:**

- From the **Settings **menu, select **Preferences** (or press Shift+P) and in **User Preferences**, go to the **General** section.
  - To disable auto-save, clear **Enable auto-save**. The default is selected.
  - To change the auto-save interval, enter a value (in seconds) for the **Auto-save interval**. The default is 60 seconds.


If you have system settings that you are likely to re-use, save them into the System settings, rather than relying on the auto-save feature.

**To save system settings for convenient re-use:**

1. Make sure the current settings are the ones you want to save for future use.
2. At the top right of the Shogun Markerless toolbar, click System Settings .
3. Click **Manage** and in the Manage System Settings dialog, click Save .

 See also the Vicon video: [How do I manage and swap between system settings in Vicon Shogun Live and Markerless?](https://youtu.be/NV0ivj5dm_0?si=mF4JBQd9t7yGehmH)

> Macro (scroll-ignore)
> 
> > Macro (widget)